comparison vs thankfulness

“Circumstances don’t breed discontentment, comparison does.”

When I first read that it hit me like a half-ton of bricks(not quite like a full ton).

Then I started thinking about how to combat discontentment. I’m not really sure what the actual opposite of comparison is, but I decided that for me it is [thankfulness]. Does that make sense? I’ve made up my mind to start naming off things I am thankful for when I start to feel that need to compare and feel sorry for myself.

God has blessed me with so many wonderful gifts and has placed me in such a great place. And it is a much better use of my time to be thankful for what He has done for me and the opportunities I have to be light than wishing I thing were different.

Are you in a place in life where you really need to choose thankfulness? It isn’t usually the first thing we turn to do. But may we learn to first choose thankfulness before complaining/comparing/self-pity.

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

One thought on “comparison vs thankfulness

  1. Oh My Precious One..I long to have a long..sit down chat..God is doing soo much
    even in your Olde Grammy..Praise God for His Work..I miss you and love you soo
    much..Gotta Go..Godliness with contentment IS great gain..Love Grandma..
    Want to help me dejunk…

Leave a Reply

